ACCESSIBILITY MURAL

Say-Hello1

image : hello

It is now beginning of the stress of all stress. For the first computer graphic assignment, my lecturer told us to do a mural.

A mural is any piece of artwork painted or applied directly on a wall, ceiling or other large permanent surface. A distinguishing characteristic of mural painting is that the architectural elements of the given space are harmoniously incorporated into the picture.

However our mural is not really painting on the wall,be serious there’s more than 80 students in a class. Our mural is more toward the computer graphic style. Instead of painting on it, we use our skills in adobe illustrator and we use vector images with the wall as a background. Pretty cool huh? I experience a whole ton of tips and tricks using illustrator.

Of course we were given a theme for the mural and the theme is accessibility. Accessibility can be viewed as the “ability to access” and benefit from some system or entity. The concept focuses on enabling access for people with disabilities, or special needs, or enabling access through the use of assistive technology. However, research and development in accessibility brings benefits to everyone. Let’s do the assignment and experience together using illustrator shall we?

So we first we had to do brainstorming and a sketch for our mural assignment which looks like

STEP 1 SKETCH

11667443_373585356169879_6786545690045029293_n

*Trust me it gets better in time* This is my sketch and I’m really not good in drawing so excuse mee. It’s called an accessibility so I wanted to show that even disabled people has very strong ability toward what they want. Sometimes even stronger than the abled ones. Successful disabled people also won’t make their disability as a reason for their failure. They accept it as a positive thought.

STEP 2 TRACE

So the next step is to actually take a picture of the sketch (best if its really high quality) and save it in the computer because we are going to be using that picture in illustrator.

Screenshot 2015-09-16 21.27.40

like I said it looks better in time 🙂 what I did is i trace the image(this is why you need high quality picture) using pen tool exactly how I showed in my previous post.

After the trace it would look something like this Screenshot 2015-09-16 21.33.40

I added the wing so that I could emphasize the message more.

STEP 3 COLOR

Moving on to the next step which is adding colours to your image. Make sure that all the lines are connected with each other forming a complete shape so that you can color it because i had a problem with that during my assignment

 

 

Screenshot 2015-09-16 21.33.04

 

As you can see that is how it should look like now. I also coloured the outlines of my image. Below will be a link on how I learn to live paint in illustrator

How To Live Paint In Ilustrator

 

STEP 4 THE LAST ONE

The last step is to assemble everything by adding the words and the background. As for me because it is called a mural assignment, so our background is a wall i took around my faculty.

ASIIGNMENT disability SHAZANA AZNAN

 

TADAAAA!!! This is the last result. I didn’t color the wheels because I wanted to highlight the ability of the girl.If you are wondering how I did my typography is I using the pen tool and make a curve line. Then click on the type tool and go to the end of the line until u see a little “+” then u click on the line and type ahead.

thank god that now my assignment 1 have completed! Thank you for reading today’s post and I hope you guys have an amazing day !!! See you again!!!

6c380522c02e2891a378ae6ead316f45

image : goodbye

Leave a Reply

